How to activate the new Gmail right away

Credit: https://blog.google/products/gmail/stay-composed-heres-quick-rundown-new-gmail/

Can’t wait for the global rollout of the new Gmail? Lucky you because this ‘how to’ article will guide you through the process—and it doesn’t really matter if you are not a pro.

There are two ways to go about it—both methods are quite easy. The first one involves a couple of steps within Gmail for web, while the second one is about asking for a helping hand. Without wasting your time any further, here are the two methods of activating the new Gmail:

Open your personal Gmail account on the web, click on the gear icon that is found at the top right-hand corner. An option that says “Try the new Gmail” will appear if the new update is available on your account right away. In case the option to “Try the new Gmail” has not appeared in your account yet, then you may have to check back few hours or days later—the update is being gradually rolled out to every user.

If you already have it [the new update], simply choose an option from the drop-down menu, and you are done.

While the first option works perfectly for those who have personal Gmail account, the second one is great for those who need group admins to make changes to theirs. Simply contact your system admin to enable it on your G Suit account. The moment your system admin turns on the new update, every single account on the network will be able to see the new update.

I like the new Gmail, but in case you want to revert to the previous look, simply go back to the settings and do the needful.

You can share your experience with us by dropping us a line or two using the comment box below.

The new Gmail by Google among several other newly added features comes with a confidential mode, two-factor authentication, email snoozing, and native offline mode among others.

The confidential mode allows you to set an expiration date for all your sensitive email. What that means is that the email can be revoked at the expiration of a set date. This works by sending a link instead of the confidential email directly to the recipient. The sent link leaves your mailbox from where the recipient is able to access it via his Gmail account or another email service.

Still under the confidential mode, Google has added a two-factor authentication feature. The feature allows the sender to request the receiver to authenticate with a passcode received via text message before access to the email is granted. This will now be the norm for all confidential emails you send.

The Gmail app was not left out as Google also unveiled high-priority notifications. To those already familiar with Inbox, this feature uses Google’s artificial intelligence to choose which email you will want to accord greater priority and the one you want to read later.

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On