Google Messages is working on auto delete for OTPs

Image Credit: Google Play

Google Messages is reportedly working on a feature that automatically deletes OTPs after 24 hours. This was revealed By XDA Developers per Android Police. When functional, the feature will serve as a solution to unnecessary clutter of messages in your message inbox, and free up enough space for other important ones.

The truth is that these messages become useless after use because they are one-time passwords. As a matter of fact, they [OTPs] become useless after few minutes of being used. What Google wants to achieve by launching this new feature is to help you with the clutters—it means you no longer need to do it yourself.

Users will be prompted if they want the cleanup done automatically or they want to do it themselves. They will also have the option of leaving the OTPs to pile up, which I doubt a lot of people would want to do.

No exact date has been fixed or announced for this new feature to be released. For a change, it is good that something in that direction is being tested. Hopefully it will be made available to all users soon.

Android Police had in September reported that Google was working on the auto-delete feature, but nothing was heard since then.

Google Messages clocked 1 billion downloads in the Play Store in May 2020; and this was achieved in a most remarkable fashion. Virtually every Google app that has hit that record did that preinstalled in most Android phones. Messages, however, was able to achieve that feat without coming as a preinstalled app in virtually every Android phone; except of course in Pixel and Android One.

Messages has really come a long way since launch—the app has become the most viable alternative or shall I say the preferred text message app for most users. In the last few years, a couple of cool features including dark mode, image markup tool, web version, and the added RCS supports in many regions.

In 2018 [One of Messages’ most productive years in terms of added features], Google rolled out spam protection on Messages. When you turn on the feature from your Settings, certain information about the messages you receive is sent to Google [information such as your phone number and the actual content of the message itself is not included]. Google then examines the received information to determine if it bears any relationship with spam messages in order to detect them.

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.