There are times when you feel like you need to have your YouTube browsing history or habits covered up—you just don’t like the idea of someone having access to your previously watched videos. Of course, you can erase your browsing history soon afterwards, but that is not enough tweak to keep Google off. There is some good news after all, YouTube is adding an Incognito mode so you can watch your videos privately on your Android device. The feature gets rid of any videos from your viewing history.
Of course, Google tracks your viewing history so it can personalize you’re the video it serves you on the streaming website, but that can now be dealt with the new Incognito mode.
That said, the new Incognito mode won’t stop your Internet Service Provider from monitoring all of your activities. Your ISP will still be able to monitor or track your data usage and browsing habits among other things.
When you turn off Incognito or become inactive, your activity from this session will be cleared and you’ll return to the account last used.
Your activity might still be visible to your employer, school, or internet service provider, Google warns per 9to5google.
The roll out is part of version 13.25.56 of the YouTube app for Android, and is already available for download in the Play Store. You can turn on the Incognito mode from the middle of the menu, right below the option to ‘Switch account.’
Once the feature is turned on, you won’t be able to access your subscriptions, library of uploaded videos, messages inbox, and notifications. As a matter of fact, you will get a warning that you will need to switch off the Incognito mode if you want to access those features again.
As soon as the feature is turned on, a logo of a hat and sunglasses will be displayed in the top-right corner and a banner showing ‘You’re Incognito’ will also run at the bottom of the app.
Google recently announced that it will roll out a new tool that will allow you to set limits on your viewing. In other words, you will receive reminders telling you to consider taking a break from watching videos. The feature will be rolling out soon in the latest version of the YouTube app.
Also, the app will be rolling out new tools that will give you an overview of your binge behavior so you can make highly-informed decisions about your viewing habits.
The tool is called “Take a break reminder,” and will become available to users in the coming days. You can set a reminder to take a break while watching videos. You can set the reminder to appear every 15, 30, 60, 90 or 180 minutes, and your video will pause at that interval until you dismiss it or resume playing the video. The feature is set to “off” by default and will have to be activated or enabled in your Settings.