WhatsApp’s latest update lets you unsend chats after an hour

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.whatsapp.com/

Up from just seven minutes, WhatsApp users now have a maximum 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds to undo or unsend a message sent in error. The new update was spotted by reliable blogger WABetaInfo on his blog recently.

One hour plus for me is like eternity, and any damage whatsoever would have been done by then. Anyway, you don’t need to wait that long to retract or delete a message sent in error since you can get that done long before that time.

That said, it is a useful update especially if you have a contact who is careless when it comes to deleting secret conversation before someone else sees it.

The much-awaited “Delete” button was launched last November by the Facebook owned messaging app. The rollout came on the heels of an update made to its FAQ page, which brought all users up to date with the latest on its unsend button.

Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake — whether to one person or an entire group. Here’s how it works: tap and hold on the message, choose “Delete,” and then “Delete for everyone.” You have seven minutes to delete the message after it’s sent.,” the Facebook subsidiary said on its official blog.

All messages including, text, videos, GIFs, pictures, and voice messages can be recalled. For now, the Unsend button does not support deleting stickers; this will probably come at a later date.

You can choose to ‘Delete for Everyone,’ or ‘Delete for Me.’ Delete for Everyone deletes the message from both ends [from your phone as well as from the receiver’s device]. The second option, ‘Delete for Me,’ is just exactly what it is; it deletes the message only from your phone. What this means is that the person on the other end still has access to the message.

To delete a message that has already been sent to someone within the grace period, simply long press on the message and a delete option will appear from the menu. You can either delete for everyone or for yourself alone. You can also select multiple messages to delete them all at once. Recipient must also have the latest version of WhatsApp installed before delete can take place.

The messaging app is reportedly testing a feature called “Forwarded Message.” The feature will alert you when a message is copied and forwarded from another user or group.

According to WABetaInfo, WhatsApp has already started testing the new feature. The feature, according to the blog, will show on the bubble, when “a Forwarded message string, [that is] if the message has been forwarded from another chat.” WhatsApp recently hit the 1.5 billion monthly active user mark; a feat that only means one thing—more forwarded messages are on their way.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On