WhatsApp officially rolls out the “Delete” button for everyone

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://faq.whatsapp.com/en/android/23130793/?category=5245251

WhatsApp has officially rolled out its much-awaited “Delete” button—and it’s available to everyone. The rollout came on the heels of a recent update made to its FAQ page, which brought all users up to date with the latest on its unsend button.

Starting today you can now delete messages you sent by mistake — whether to one person or an entire group. Here’s how it works: tap and hold on the message, choose “Delete,” and then “Delete for everyone.” You have seven minutes to delete the message after it’s sent.,” the Facebook subsidiary said on its official blog.

WhatsApp “Delete button is now officially available to everyone around the world including, iPhone, Android, Windows Phone as well as desktop users.

Just like we told you the last time we brought you the news about the chat retract feature, you will be able to quickly recall a message sent to a user within seven minutes. All messages including, text, videos, GIFs, pictures, and voice messages can be recalled. For now, the Unsend button does not support deleting stickers; this will probably come at a later date.

The new feature will be the saving grace for millions of users who sometimes send embarrassing messages to people but without ways to retract. Some of these messages are sometimes sent in error to wrong recipient, which always causes embarrassment. The only problem though, is that you won’t be able to retract or delete these messages after seven minutes. Seven minutes in my view should be long enough to retract any message sent to a wrong recipient.

You can choose to ‘Delete for Everyone,’ or ‘Delete for Me.’ Delete for Everyone deletes the message from both ends [from your phone as well as from the receiver’s device]. The second option, ‘Delete for Me,’ is just exactly what it is; it deletes the message only from your phone. What this means is that the person on the other end still has access to the message.

How to use the “Delete” button:

To delete a message that has already been sent to someone within seven minutes, simply long press on the message and a delete option will appear from the menu. You can either delete for everyone or for yourself alone. You can also select multiple messages to delete them all at once. Recipient must also have the latest version of WhatsApp installed before delete can take place.

A few months ago the screenshot of the new feature was posted on Twitter by popular tech blogger WABetaInfo and featured a “Cancel” and a “Recall” button that allow you to recall or cancel a sent message obviously within a specified period.

It is important to state that using the Delete button requires that you and the recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On