Twitter wants to keep strangers off your DM by rolling out filters. The company is adding a filter to your incoming messages—and that means people you don’t follow will no longer be able to access your DM without your permission.
“If you have the Receive messages from anyone setting enabled, incoming messages from people you don’t follow will appear as Requests in the Messages tab. New group conversations that you’re added to by people you don’t follow will also appear in Requests. Entering the conversation, you will be asked to either Delete or Accept the message. Accepting the message will allow you to engage with the person, and will move the message to your inbox. Please note that they will not know you have seen the message until you have accepted their request,” an update on the Twitter Support Page explained.
Here is how it works, according to TechCrunch, when you enter a Requested conversation, you will have the option to Accept or Delete the conversation. This change will affect pictures and media, which will not be visible from any account you have not hit the Accept button for.
Going forward, every conversation from unknown account will be flagged as “Requests” in the new inbox in the Message tab. It’s a great move on the part of Twitter, and one that will give you more control over the kind of conversation you want to engage in as well as the kind of people you want to have sliding into your DM.
So, what happens when you delete a message from a user you don’t know? Twitter said such message will only be removed from your inbox, but won’t prevent a future message from the same person:
“Deleting the message will remove it from your inbox. Note: Deleting a message will not prevent that account from sending you messages in the future. You will always have the option to block the account or report the conversation. Blocked accounts cannot send you messages, unless you unblock them.”
The new inbox in the Messages tab in Twitter has already rolled out on iOS, Android. No word yet on when the feature will be available on Twitter.com, but that won’t take long according to TechCrunch.
The microblogging platform rolled out new measures to ban users from creating new accounts and a new “safe search” feature last February. The changes, according to Twitter, will be focused on “abuse and harassment.”
In addition, the microblogging platform also added a “safe search” feature that will get rid of potentially sensitive content and tweets from blocked and muted accounts from search results. While the tweets will be available on the microblogging website when people search for them, they will not appear in general search results, the report adds.
Harassment remains the biggest problem facing Twitter, and despite past efforts at dealing with it, nothing much has been achieved by the microblogging platform. Users can only hope that Twitter’s latest efforts will help the company reduce harassment and abuse on its network.