Telegram rolls out auto play for videos, automatic downloads and more

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.xda-developers.com/telegram-5-4-autoplaying-videos/

Telegram has just joined the league of apps adding the ability to auto play video—and what an impressive company that includes Facebook and the likes. The messaging app has just been upgraded to version 5.4 that is already rolling out to millions of users out there. A number of new features that include automatic download settings, and logout alternatives along with auto play video are now available.

Telegram’s auto play video feature works the same way it does on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. As you begin to scroll through a conversation, video will start playing automatically, but without sound. To unmute the video, all you have to do is to tap the icon or make use of your phone’s volume buttons. The good thing is that you can also disable the Autoplay feature if you do not want video to auto play.

Also, new settings now give you more control over automatic downloads, and you can toggle it off when you are on mobile data, Wi-Fi or roaming. You will also be able to adjust the settings based on file type, chat, and file size. The new settings have now been added to version 5.4, and can be updated when you go to the Play Store.

Finally, Telegram has added new options for logging out of the app. You now have the option of adding another account, set passcode, clear cache, contact support, or change phone number.

A delete feature that allows you to undo a sent message within five minutes was recently added to Telegram. This is the perfect function that will further endear users to chat app. Tipped by many as one of the best messaging apps when it comes to protecting user’s private conversation, Telegram has further added a new feature that will further guarantee privacy during chats. An updated [5.2] version of the messaging app gives you the opportunity to ‘undo’ a message within five seconds of sending it to the recipient.

You will be given five seconds to undo chat or history within the app. Other changes added to the app during the last update include, restricting all the members within a group from posting specific content and new animations.

The undo or delete chat and history feature only works within the first five seconds of sending the message. Interestingly, all deleted chats and history are permanently erased from your system, which is quite encouraging supposing it is true.

You can now block polls, GIFs, media, links, and even messages. You can head straight to your Telegram Settings and change all the permissions you want. Worthy of mention is another added update which allows groups to restrict all of their members from posting specific types of content to the group. It is still not clear how this works, but from the way it sounds, it could just be the perfect gift for users who would rather not see specific content within a group.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On