Telegram now lets you decide who can view your phone number

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.androidpolice.com/2019/06/01/telegram-5-7-further-enhances-privacy-improves-group-and-channel-features-and-more/

When it comes to privacy, you just have to give it to Telegram—the messaging app that has one of the most reliable end-to-end encryption. The messaging app recently released v5.7 for Android—and the update has massively improved Telegram in terms of privacy.

Going forward, you now have control over who has access to your phone number within the app. This can be easily activated in the Privacy and Security settings of the app. You choose to have only your contacts or no one when it comes to who sees your phone number. It is a massive addition that will further improve the security and privacy level of the app for every user.

All other newly added features according to the Play Store changelog include:

  • Choose who can see your phone number in Privacy & Security settings.
  • Add groups to “Always/Never Share” exceptions in privacy settings. Permissions will get updated as users leave and join the groups.
  • Enjoy improved design when confirming actions, searching for messages and adding users to groups.
  • Connect a discussion group to your channel.
  • View any public channel, even without a Telegram account.
  • Seamlessly integrate bots with web services.

According to Android Police, the updates are gradually rolling out to every user, but could take a little while before it goes round.

As part of ongoing efforts to make users’ privacy a priority, Telegram launched an “Undo” feature last January. The delete feature allows you to undo a sent message within five minutes.

Users will be given five seconds to undo chat or history within the app. Among other changes added along with the undo feature are, restricting all the members within a group from posting specific content and new animations.

The undo or delete chat and history feature only works within the first five seconds of sending the message. Interestingly, all deleted chats and history are permanently erased from your system, which is quite encouraging supposing it is true.

Telegram also introduced the ability for users to block polls, GIFs, media, links, and even messages. You can activate the features by going to Telegram Settings to change all the permissions you want.

Worthy of mention is another added update which allows groups to restrict all of their members from posting specific types of content to the group. It is still not clear how this works, but from the way it sounds, it could just be the perfect gift for users who would rather not see specific content within a group.

Finally, that update gave users the ability to increase the number of people that can be added to a group from 10,000 to 20,000. Telegram did this by eliminating the super and normal groups—making groups public is now easier, and only take a few steps.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On