Snapchat rolls out Send and Request location feature that won’t cause privacy issues

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://techcrunch.com/2018/05/24/snapchat-location/

Users are always cautious when it comes to using location features—even more skeptical when it has to do with Snapchat and other social networking companies. Snapchat is once again doing something different with its location sharing feature—the ephemeral photo sharing app is rolling out a new Send and Request location feature. Apparently, Snapchat is set to take a small leap ahead of its biggest rival Instagram.

The big issue when it comes to sharing a user’s location online is privacy, but Snapchat’s new feature is aiming to do something slightly different to guarantee some form of privacy. The new feature, which has been confirmed by TechCrunch, emphasizes more on user privacy.

When you long-press on your friend’s name or hit the three-line hamburger button on a chat thread, an option to Send Location or Request location appears. The feature, however, only works with bi-directional friends, which means you can’t ask for the spot of your favorite friend Snap star if he does not follow you back. To curb spamming, you can turn off getting requests in your Settings—I suppose this sufficiently deals with the issue of privacy.

Send and Request location is rolling out to iOS and Android users. Location data will only show up for eight hours since you last used the app. You will also be able to stop sharing your location at any time.

Snapchat angered a lot of users in 2017 when it started issuing notification to users about the need to turn on location services when using its basic services. Users didn’t find the notification funny as issues that bothered on privacy were raised. Prior to that time, Snapchat only requested users to turn on location services only in cases when using geofilters and speedometer.

In other Snapchat news, the company is again rolling out a redesign to replace the controversial redesign it rolled out not quite long ago. Recall that the redesign caused so much uproar among Snapchat users that thousands of people signed petitions on change.org to have it reversed. At the last count, over 1.2 million people had signed to have the new design ditched.

According The Washington Post, the new redesign separates the popular stories feature from messages and “sorts chats, pictures and videos from friends in reverse chronological order.” What that means is that Snapchat is reverting to the old order. Stories from friends is also being moved to the right side of the app, but they will remain separate from content created by brands.

Snapchat users especially in the UK, Canada and Australia kicked against the app’s new redesign. No fewer than 83 percent of users who reviewed the app on the App Store have given it thumbs down.

The major complaint was that feeds were no longer chronological and were confusing. Some users went as far as contacting Snapchat support on Twitter to express their frustration at the new design.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On