Snapchat now lets you delete messages mistakenly sent

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.wsj.com/articles/why-snapchat-is-the-new-tv-1486209602

Snapchat is following on the heels of WhatsApp by also launching a delete button. It is good to know that some of these chat or social media apps are beginning to realize how important a feature like a delete button is to millions of users out there. A message sent in error could kill a smooth relationship or could cause untold emotional breakdown for some people—but not when you can delete such messages even before the recipient gets to see it.

In the next couple of weeks, a new feature that lets you delete those embarrassing messages wrongly sent to your contacts on Snapchat will roll out. It is a face-saving feature that will do a lot of people more good than harm. It works in both group and individual chats, and is intuitive too.

The new feature works when you press and hold the message, then comes an option menu where you can select ‘delete.’ Just like the WhatsApp delete button, the new Snapchat delete feature notifies the recipient when a chat is deleted.

Video Credit: https://thenextweb.com/socialmedia/2018/06/11/snapchat-now-lets-you-clear-chats-to-save-face/

I don’t like to see chat delete features other than what they are—face savers. It will solve a lot of issues, one of which is when you mistakenly send a message full of typo.

In other Snapchat news, the ephemeral photo sharing app recently rolled out a ‘Send and Request’ location feature. Apparently, Snapchat is set to take a small leap ahead of its biggest rival Instagram.

The big issue when it comes to sharing a user’s location online is privacy, but Snapchat’s new feature is aiming to do something slightly different to guarantee some form of privacy. The new feature, which was confirmed by TechCrunch, emphasizes more on user privacy.

When you long-press on your friend’s name or hit the three-line hamburger button on a chat thread, an option to Send Location or Request location appears. The feature, however, only works with bi-directional friends, which means you can’t ask for the spot of your favorite friend Snap star if he does not follow you back. To curb spamming, you can turn off getting requests in your Settings—I suppose this sufficiently deals with the issue of privacy.

To appease millions of users who were displeased with the recent overhauling of the app, the company once again tampered with the design. It recently rolled out a redesign to replace the controversial redesign it rolled out not quite long ago. Recall that the redesign caused so much uproar among Snapchat users that thousands of people signed petitions on change.org to have it reversed.

The new redesign separates the popular stories feature from messages and “sorts chats, pictures and videos from friends in reverse chronological order.” What that means is that Snapchat is reverting to the old order. Stories from friends is also being moved to the right side of the app, but they will remain separate from content created by brands.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On