Instagram will not alert people when you take screenshot of a Story

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.techspot.com/news/68636-instagram-adding-sensitive-content-filter-enables-two-factor.html

Remember when stories were making the rounds that Instagram would alert people when you screenshot their stories? That was way back in February, and many people were worried, but it seems that plan won’t see the light of the day. Instagram has confirmed to BuzzFeed News that it will no longer continue with the test.

The test was actually announced last February, and if allowed to see the light of the day, would have sent shivers down the spine of many people. Last February, Instagram said the feature would alert users when someone try to screenshot something for the first time.

While warning users of the features that was being tested at the time, the company had said back then that “Next time you take a screenshot or screen recording, the person who posted the story will be able to see it.”

Alerting users when a screenshot of their content has been taken is a feature introduced by Snapchat, and many thought Instagram was on the verge of copying its major rival once again.

It is a big relief not just for many people out there, but yours truly as well. Hopefully, we have heard the last of this feature and will no longer worry about it being introduced anytime in the future.

Instagram last week, added a new feature that will enable users reshare their friend’s stories. The new feature in my opinion will still take a while to get to everyone—how long this will depend on what the ephemeral photo sharing app decides.

Once a friend tags you in their stories, Instagram will send you a notification in your direct message thread with them. You will be able to tap and see your friend’s story as a sticker, which allows you to add some creative tweaks.

Due credit will be given to the original owner of the post. This, in my opinion sorts out the likely issues that might arise as a result of not giving credit to the original owner. “When your followers see your story, the original poster’s username will appear and will be tappable, so people can explore your friend’s profile as well.” Instagram said in a blog post.

Posts from private accounts are, however, excluded from ones that can be reshared. In other words, only posts from public accounts can be reshared in your friend’s story.

A couple of weeks ago, Instagram quietly added an in-app payments feature to enable you register your debit or credit card as part of your profile. What that means is that you can now add your security pin and start buying things within Instagram. Things have moved pretty quickly since that time—you can now shop products through Stories.

The Facebook subsidiary earlier in the week announced that people can now shop for products through Stories, one of Instagram’s most popular features. When you go to your stories, you will see a sticker with a shopping bag icon, simply tap on it to see more details about that product.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On