Instagram will alert you when your account is close to being deleted

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://instagram-press.com/blog/2019/07/18/changes-to-our-account-disable-policy/

On Thursday Instagram made some changes to its rules—tightening some lose ends, and adding a new way to get notified when you are at risk of losing your account. The new notification process according to Instagram, will help you to understand if your account is at risk of being disabled.

“We are now rolling out a new policy where, in addition to removing accounts with a certain percentage of violating content, we will also remove accounts with a certain number of violations within a window of time. Similarly, to how policies are enforced on Facebook, this change will allow us to enforce our policies more consistently and hold people accountable for what they post on Instagram,” Instagram said.

What that means is that you won’t just wake up one day to discover that your account has been disabled. You will begin to get notification from Instagram when you start engaging in acts that violates the company policies.

Added to that, notification will also grant you the opportunity to appeal deleted content. For a start, you will be able to appeal content deleted for violations of nudity, pornography, bullying and harassment, hate speech, drug sales, and counter-terrorism policies. The Facebook subsidiary said it will be expanding appeals in the coming months to cover more topics.

Content that is found to have been removed in error will be restored upon reviews of such appeal, while Instagram will also follow that up with removal of the violation from the account’s record. Instagram has also announced that it will be bringing the ability for you to appeal to within the app in the next couple of months from now.

A couple of weeks ago, Instagram launched a new feature called “Restrict.” The feature, according to Instagram’s head Adam Mosseri is part of the company’s plan to curb the menace called bullying as well as harassment on the platform.

The Facebook-owned app said it is committed to leading the fight against bullying and online harassment. Of course, Instagram is fully aware of the huge task, but is even encouraged by the fact that people need to be comfortable while using its platform.

Restrict is powered by artificial intelligence [no surprise actually], which notifies you when your post offensive comments. The aim is to give you a chance to reflect and undo your comment, “Restrict” also prevents the recipient from receiving harmful comment notification.

Instagram in a blog post said early tests carried out on the feature showed encouraging results. Some users, according to the company, undo their comment and share something less hurtful once they have had a chance to reflect on what was sent.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On