Instagram Introduces Show Activity Status – How To Turn It Off?

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Instagram Tells Everyone You’re Online - How To Stop It?

Source: https://www.buzzfeed.com/nicolenguyen/how-turn-off-instagram-active-status-feature?utm_term=.epM56GaN3w#.jsZPe2gYbj

Instagram continues to provide its users new features. Unfortunately, some of these updates are unwelcome, especially the latest change. Recently, Instagram included another feature that you can find in other popular apps, like WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger.

When you go to direct messages screen, people you’ve previously chatted can now see when you were last seen using the app.

Show Activity Status

By default, Instagram enabled the Show Activity Status. Thankfully, you can toggle it off by going to the Settings. That is if you don’t want others to see whether you’re active or not.

However, if you disable this option, you won’t see this information for other users.

It’s highly likely that this option is in its testing phase and it’s available for specific users.

This Activity status won’t allow your followers to see when you were last seen on Instagram. The only people who can see it is the people you follow and those you’ve previously corresponded with.

The new feature will tell those people how many hours ago you scrolled through your feed. It can also show that you have been “active today.” It’s still specific enough to tell your friends when you used the app. But you can always turn it off.

This Show Activity Status option may be helpful to brands. For example, if you chatted with businesses, you will know how quick they are in responding.

Thankfully, this option doesn’t work like the one on Facebook Messenger, where you won’t have a way to turn it off. Thus, your friends will always know when you’ve been online. You can’t also display the read receipts. It’s also the same with Instagram. That is you will know whether your recipients have opened your message or not.

ChaiOS

Meanwhile, Facebook Messenger encounters a new bug, which prevents iOS users from writing more than a few words at a time. When you type a few more words, the keyboard freezes up. Thus, you’ll end up having words spread across several lines.

The company acknowledged the issue, and it’s investigating it. However, it did not offer a timeline as to when the fix becomes available. Users reported that restarting or deleting and re-installing the app won’t solve the problem.

But it’s not the biggest issue on messaging this week that happened on iOS. Recently, users reported a bug in iOS that caused the Messages app to freeze or automatically restart their iPhones when they received a specially-engineered website link. The unofficial name of the bug is “chaiOS.”

The bug exploits the Messages’ ability to preload links to web pages. Abraham Masri, who discovered the bug, explained that he created a page hosted on GitHub. The said page contained metadata with thousands of unnecessary characters. He suggested that the app crashes when it loads the unexpected information. In some cases, it takes the whole iOS down with it.

But it doesn’t work consistently. It crashes sometimes, or it causes lag. It also freezes the device or triggered “respring.” However, it only affects iOS 10.0 to 11.2.5 beta 5. Furthermore, it can crash the said app on macOS.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Jane Danes

Jane has a lifelong passion for writing. As a blogger, she loves writing breaking technology news and top headlines about gadgets, content marketing and online entrepreneurship and all things about social media. She also has a slight addiction to pizza and coffee.

Share This Post On