Instagram is Testing a New Feature to Remove Followers

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Instagram is Testing New Feature to Remove Followers

Source: https://twitter.com/MattNavarra

Instagram is a fantastic social media that lets you share photos of your holidays. Unfortunately, tracking who could see your recent updates could be a difficult thing to do.

Thankfully, the said social media is experimenting on a function with some public individuals on Android that enables them to get rid of people from their fans list without the followers knowing it.

The company continues to crank out new functions. And this latest news could be a game changer for many celebs, blog writers and various other Instagram celebrities who need to handle their Internet trolls.

The function is still in the testing phase. Thus, it’s still uncertain when it’ll be available to all account owners. The company didn’t make additional details regarding the feature.

Having a public account on Instagram allows anyone to follow you, see your posts and like them. They also get to view your Instagram Stories and share your material with other users.

The only means to stop complete strangers from looking into your photos and videos is to modify your privacy settings within the application. That is, you need to set it from a public account to private. When your account is exclusive, however, you need to accept all fan requests. It enables you to easily manage who could see your post, comment on it and who can’t.

Although soft-blocking is a wonderful way to eliminate individuals you didn’t want to see your photos, it’s only a short-term action and things could get uncomfortable if a person discovers you’ve blocked him/her.

But even if you blocked that individual, it’s quite easy for him to keep up to date with your photos. The reason for this is that they could easily look for you via a private browser. The only means to genuinely leave a tracking individual is to establish your account to private. However, why ought to restrict your connection online due to the activities of a few individuals.

The Mute Function

In late May, the said social media presented a mute function. Here, it allows you to continue following those individuals while totally preventing their posts and tales completely. That step is plainly implied to prevent tension with individuals that you know in the real world.

This function was long overdue. It’s true that you could constantly unfollow a person, it’s not always a sensible choice. You can’t just unfollow a family member just because he/she publish updates more than 10 times a day. Currently, you can decide to mute the profile.

Social networks are commonly slow-moving to include mute features, most likely because they prefer to have as much content to show to their users as possible. However, as networks get older and older and individuals include increasingly more buddies on them, their feeds begin to get congested.

Thus, when Instagram added the mute switch, users were thankful because it allowed them to consider their real connections.

The latest experiment, Remove feature, is only showing on a few selected public accounts on Android.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Jane Danes

Jane has a lifelong passion for writing. As a blogger, she loves writing breaking technology news and top headlines about gadgets, content marketing and online entrepreneurship and all things about social media. She also has a slight addiction to pizza and coffee.

Share This Post On