Instagram is adding blurred screen with “Sensitive Content” warning

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Instagram Blurry Pictures

Credit: https://techcrunch.com/2017/03/23/instagram-begins-blurring-some-sensitive-content-opens-two-factor-to-all/

Instagram is not taking its fight against sensitive comments and posts lightly. Lately, the social media service has been adding a couple of features to make its platform safe for all. Features like ability to deactivate comments and filter certain phrases were all added by the Facebook-owned company to make its community safe. Today, the company announced plans to add a blurred screen with “Sensitive Content” warning.

With blurred screen, Instagram will add a warning on top of posts that fit description. In other words, any post that has been reported as offensive by users, but don’t deserve to be taken down as per the company’s guidelines, reports TechCrunch.

It means such content or images will no longer appear by default, but will now appear along with a warning sign. So, if you are the type who really doesn’t get bothered by some controversial images, then you can click on the acknowledgement and go ahead to view the photo or video. Instagram says it will start preventing unwanted or surprising experience on its platform; it means users will no longer be caught unaware by any video or photo when using its service.

It’s your call; that’s another way to put it; but the fact that every user will get a warning and be allowed to decide on what they want to do with controversial images, shows how much Instagram wants to make its platform safe.

Also today, Instagram the release of two-factor introduction to all users. This security feature was only available to a handful of Instagram users before today’s announcement. Now, you can enable this feature and secure your Instagram account by using the gear icon in your profile page.

It’s clear that Instagram wants to make its platform safe for all, and is doing all it can to promote a positive atmosphere all through. While adding a Like button to Instagram last December, chief executive Kevin Systrom said: “Liking lets you show support and encourages positivity throughout the community.”

As part of safety measures to make everyone feel comfortable when using the service, the company added ability to turn off comments last December.

Last December, Instagram users with private accounts were also given a feature that enable them remove followers. The feature is compared to one that allows a private account block a follower. Simply go to your list of followers and tap the menu next to the person’s name to remove him. The best part is that the person will not be notified by Instagram that he has been removed.

By continuing to add all these features, everyone on Instagram can feel safe and be free to view or skip pictures or videos they are uncomfortable with.

Got something to add to this story? You can share it with us by using the comment box right below this article.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On