Facebook recently launched the beta version of its new social search product Graph Search, which taps on the information you and other people shared with each other in a personal way, and arguably values user privacy.
The world’s largest social network addressed several concerns about Graph Search in an official blog post, where it stressed the importance of knowing how to adjust settings on who can see shared information on their Facebook profiles using the tool.
Before Facebook started to roll out Graph Search in January of this year, it played up upgraded privacy tools on the social network to help its users review their shared information.
The improved set of privacy tools, along with its reminders, is part of the company’s continuous effort to urge people in choosing the right settings for them.
Facebook said privacy consistently works on the social network across-the-board, not only on Graph Search.
Users have control which and to whom they share information with, and pick the people who can view the information they shared across Facebook – includes Graph Search, News Feed, and Timeline.
Below are some of the concerns that users bring up about Graph Search and privacy.
How to control shared information in Graph Search
Facebook users have control over information they share on Facebook and their intended audience.
For each shared information, you can choose whether that content is shared with the public, friends, only you, a personal audience, or a specific list of people.
Graph Search takes note of this privacy setting, so you can visit the Activity Log to check and adjust who can see what you share.
How to control who can view your interests and likes
Facebook gives you control on whom you want to share interests and likes with by going to your timeline and clicking the Likes box on the navigation bar, where each category of interest and like have its own privacy setting.
For example, you can choose to allow only some friends to see your interests, so those friends are the limited audience who can see those interests anywhere on the social network – on Graph Search, News Feed, and Timeline.
For Facebook pages without a specific category of interest or like, you can check and control their privacy settings through the Other Pages You Like section.
How to control which of your friends people can see through Graph Search
Facebook users can adjust the people who can see their friends and family all over Facebook, including Graph Search, News Feed, and Timeline.
While you have control on who can see your friend and family lists, your friends also have the same privileges.
A random person can search your friendship with another person, so tell your friends to control who can see their friends list to stop the random person from seeing your friendship through your friends’ timeline.
Facebook argues that its search service works this way because it wants people to specify and be clear on who has access to their information anywhere on the social network – privacy settings are uniform across Facebook.
How to view and control photos of you on Facebook
Facebook rolled out last year a set of upgraded privacy tools to allow users to see their shared information, tagged photos of them, and to take action on negative content.
The upgrade now allows you to review all posts and tagged photos in Activity Log.
For example, you can un-tag your name from any photo you posted, or send a direct message to the photo’s owner and ask them to remove it from Facebook.