Google’s cool new feature allows you to perform searches through Gmail or Photos

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Google Search

Credit: https://www.google.com/

Google has added a new feature that lets you filter your search results by “personal” results. The new feature, which was spotted by Search Engine Roundtable, works when you are logged into your Gmail account, and of course, when you do a normal Google search. However, you won’t spot or be able to use the new feature if you are not logged into your account.

Above, you can see the new feature, with a new tab “personal” added to the dropdown menu. What happens when you try searching without logging in? That’s a fairly simple question, and the answer of course, is that the personal feature won’t appear. The feature like I said, only works when you log into your account.

As soon as you log in, your search results will be presented according to what you have in your Gmail and Google Photos.

It’s not a huge addition, but one that could add some fun to how you search when using Google. You will also have to click on the “More” menu to access the “Personal” tab to be able to use it.

Being able to search your personal data is one that will please a lot of people—and that’s why I think the feature will attract a lot of people. If you haven’t spotted it yet, that’s because it’s gradually being rolled out by Google, and could take a few more days to reach a global audience.

The fact that you can carry out all your searches from a single and simple interface, makes the feature a welcome one. It will go a long way in helping people spend more time on Google’s search page because they can access all the personal and general data they need.

For those asking, the feature works on both mobile and web versions of Google, and so it’s a welcome development. So, wherever you go and whatever platform [mobile or web], accessing the new feature isn’t going to be an issue for you.

Google has alleviated any issue or doubt that might arise as a result of privacy. The company added a notice right below your image, assuring that “Only you can see these results.” That should calm a lot of nerves in these days of constant vulnerability issue on the internet.

The worry for me is, when you try to log into your Gmail or Photos account on a shared computer. This is a big worry because a friend or a third-party can easily view or access your private data or photos.

I have tried out the new feature, and I think it’s fun to use. What are your first thought of the new feature? Have you tried it out? You can share your views with us by using the comment box below.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On