Google Search for Android testing a new way to share searches

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.google.com/

A new and easy way to share your searches on Google Search app for Android is currently in beta state, and could soon be available. Trust me, the new way is actually cool, but there is no way you can access it unless of course, you have already signed on as a beta tester.

Luckily, I have a screenshot of the new share button sitting comfortably beside the microphone button on the Google Search app for Android. Trust me, this new way of sharing a search result is cool. Of course, there are other ways to share your searches including copying the URL of your search, which is a bit clumsy in my opinion.

When you click on the new share button, you will be taken to another page [the Android Share menu to be precise] where you will see a long list of apps or places that you can share your search result to.

When a shared link is clicked on, it takes the recipient or the person that clicked it to the search result—in this case where it all started from in the first place—the Google Search app on Android. Just to add this, the recipient only gets to see the text of your search result. This is because all Google Search results are personalized—so, you won’t exactly be seeing the result of my search for instance.

I really don’t know how sharing a Google Search result that won’t appear exactly the way it appeared on my device would help me, but I still think it is a fantastic idea to add a share button to the Search app on Android. Anyway, that is the way I feel about it, but how about you—feel free to give it a shot and drop your comment using the box below.

In other Google Search news, the search engine behemoth is launching auto-delete controls for location history and web/app activity logs. Users will be able to select one of two windows-three months or 18 months, which specifies exactly how long they would like to retain data. This can be done from within the Google Account dashboard on both mobile and the web, where a dropdown menu allows them to choose any of the two options. The auto-delete setting will cover services like Discover on Android, Maps, Search, and Google Play. According to Google, any older data will be deleted on an ongoing basis.

Data can make Google products more useful for you … [but] we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it,” Google product managers Marlo McGriff and David Monsees said in a blog post. “You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you — and we’re committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen.”


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On