Google Photos’ new Archive feature will let you hide your private photos

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

google-photos-archive-11

Credit: https://9to5google.com/2017/05/24/google-photos-archive/

Google Photos seems to be getting all the updates these days. The app has received a couple of few exciting updates in the last few months. A new feature spotted by 9to5google is hitting the app in the coming months. This new feature called Archive, will let you remove those private images from the main Photo tab without getting rid of them from your library.

Not everyone has seen the new Archive feature yet—and the last time I checked, it wasn’t there. However, the report went on to say that the Archive option is placed in the drawer above Trash. You can access Archive from the overflow menu of any picture—and of course, it comes with a tutorial popping up the first time you open it. 9to5google also reported that Archive will remain in albums and search results.

Archive has already gone live on Android, with no date set for the web and iOS versions. However, the possibility of having the feature extended to the iOS and web version in the coming days is high—and probably won’t be long.

Google Photos recently announced a major milestone—it now has 500 million active users—and that in itself is an achievement. It is indeed a great achievement when you consider the number of apps providing almost similar services these days. Of course, one has to take into account the fact that the name Google always rings a bell; but the fact that not every app from the Mountain View California-based company has been that successful.

Along with announcing its 500 million milestone, Google also introduced three new features last week to make sharing and printing on the app easier and interesting.

Everyone, and that includes you, will soon be able to order printed books of photos when using the app. You will also be able to share all photos automatically with a significant order, get automated suggestions about what to share based on clues.

One of the features added is called Suggested Sharing, a new feature that will help you share and receive all those important photos—and yes, it saves you the stress of having to manually do it by yourself. This feature is based on Google’s machine learning technology—and will remind you to share, and automatically select the right photos, suggest who to send it to according to who is in the photos.

Suggested Sharing is easy to use, simply tap the send button, and your friends and family will see all your photos. They will also get a reminder from the app to share their photos too. “Now all the photos of that birthday dinner or weekend trip are in one place, including—and especially—the photos you didn’t take,” said Anil Sabharwal, Vice President Google Photos.

Got something to add to this story? You can share it with us by using the comment box.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On