Google announces a timeline for everyone to move to the new Gmail

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://blog.google/products/gmail/stay-composed-heres-quick-rundown-new-gmail/

It is no longer news that Google has launched a new Gmail version. Regardless of how users view the revamped version of the email service, Google is going ahead with plans to make it available to everyone. On Monday the company announced a timeline for when every user will be getting the new Gmail—and that of course, means you only have a little time to stick with the old one before it becomes history.

Since it is still an EAP, customers can choose to participate at both the domain and organizational unit levels. By July, the new Gmail service will take a step closer to a general roll out when it launches to GA. Google said G Suite admins will have among other options in the Admin consoles the following:

  • Immediately transition their users to the new Gmail. For a period of time, users will still have the option to opt out (see below for more details).
  • Allow their users to opt in to the new Gmail at the time of their choice. For a period of time, users will still have the option to opt out (see below for more details).
  • Wait approximately four weeks until their users are allowed to opt in to the new Gmail. For a period of time, users will still have the option to opt out (see below for more details).

However, all users will automatically be transitioned to the new Gmail by October whether or not they had done so during the EAP and GA period. That said, the company said it will leave open a 4-week window whereby users can opt out of the new Gmail.

This arrangement doesn’t change regardless of whether you have opted out of on or before the October date as everyone would have been migrated in to the new Gmail by then. Those who have opted in on or before the full roll out period will not have the opportunity to opt out.

Here are some of the changes and additions made to the world’s most popular email service from Google:

Confidential mode: This new feature allows you to set an expiration date for all your sensitive email. What that means is that the email can be revoked at the expiration of a set date. This works by sending a link instead of the confidential email directly to the recipient. The sent link leaves your mailbox from where the recipient is able to access it via his Gmail account or another email service. The sender is always in charge of how long the recipient gets to access the message—it’s all about putting a time-limit on the access granted to the other party.

Email snoozing: This is one feature that is gaining a lot of attention these days—a lot of email services are now adopting. Not to be undone by others, email snoozing has now been integrated into Gmail. For now, email snoozing is only available on Gmail on the web. Perhaps, we could yet see this feature added to the Gmail app in no-distant future.

Native offline mode: Google has added a native offline mode to Gmail—making it easier for frequent business travelers to always have access to their mailbox.


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On