You can now access the ‘Undo Send’ feature on your Gmail app same way you do on the web version. That took a while because that same feature has always been a part of the web version, and it remains one of my favorites.
Per Android Police, version 8.7 version of the Gmail app will let you cancel a sent message if there is an urgent need for that. As expected, there is a timeframe for this, which means you won’t be able to undo a sent message after a specific period.
The feature is still being rolled out as not every user out that has received it. When you send an email you will receive a notification at the bottom of your screen, which allows you to cancel the message before it is sent. Doing so, however, will return you to the draft screen for the applicable email.
It does not end there though, you will be able to undo a sent email even if you choose not to cancel it. For on-net messages [Gmail-to-Gmail], Google can have it pulled back for you. However, this does not apply to third-party email services as email recall is only applicable within a short period, and that is before the email is actually sent. Once you hit the ‘undo’ prompt, the email will no longer be sent and the recipient will not see the email. At this stage, Google returns you back to the compose screen for the undone draft.
The exact date this feature was added is not known and not every user can even confirm if they have spotted it despite having the latest version of the Gmail app for Android and iOS.
Yours truly can confirm the availability of the new feature on my phone, and it is one that will always come in handy when there is an urgent need to undo a sent email.
The Google Support page has also confirmed the availability of the feature across all platforms [Android and iOS].
In other related news, Google has started rolling out the Confidential Mode, a feature announced alongside a few others the last time it overhauled Gmail. The feature was initially only available on the desktop version of the Gmail, but mobile users can now have access to it as gradual roll out has begun.
Confidential Mode, Smart Compose, Email Snoozing were among a few additions to the world’s most popular free email service last May. Confidential Mode offers a suite of email protection to users, which is another major drive towards making Google’s popular email service more secure for every user out there.
“Confidential mode is now available on mobile devices and can help you protect sensitive information from unauthorized access. Learn more about this feature”, Google said in a tweet over the weekend.
Confidential Mode is a feature that allows you to set an expiration date for all your sensitive email. What that means is that the email can be revoked at the expiration of a set date. This works by sending a link instead of the confidential email directly to the recipient.