Confidential Mode, was among a few additions to the revamped Gmail in 2018. The feature offers a suite of email protection to users, and also confirms Gmail as one of the most secure email services in the world. Shortly after launching the feature on the web version of its email service, Google brought Confidential mode to mobile.
What is Confidential mode? It is a feature that allows you to send email messages that expire to your contacts. It prevents recipients of such mails from copying or resending or downloading them.
As a G Suite user whose company also uses Gmail, you will be able to use Confidential mode starting from June 25th. The feature will be switched on automatically, but managers will be able to turn if off if they so desire.
Setting up the Gmail Confidential Mode:
- Click the Compose button.
- In the bottom right of the Compose box, click to turn on the Confidential mode [represented by a padlock and a clock logo] button as seen below.
- Edit the expiry date, which be default expires in 1 week as can be seen in the image.
- Click whether you want an SMS passcode or not by checking the appropriate box.
- Save and exit.
It is pretty much the same when using it on mobile, except for the fact that the Confidential mode on mobile has to be accessed from the three dots on the right side of the Compose box.
Related to the Confidential mode is Email Scheduling—this feature allows you to schedule a mail to be sent at a set date or time.
The feature was officially rolled out to all users including mobile sometime in April 2019. With it, you can compose an email and schedule it to be sent at a later date—and it is so easy and no rocket science.
Let’s just say you have an email that is required to be sent at a particular date; and due to your tight work schedule, you might not be able to remember when that time comes. All you have to do is to compose the mail, and schedule it to be sent at the exact date and time. Like I said, it is so easy and no rocket science.
Compose an email, click the arrow next to the send button on desktop, and choose from the different options that follow, which allow you to set data and time to send the email—it is that simple. Once done, you can click the “schedule” button and wait for the email to be sent automatically on the set date.
You can also edit an already scheduled email by heading straight to the left corner of your inbox where you will find a section called “scheduled.” There you will see the number of emails that have been scheduled earlier by you, click on the email you want to edit or cancel and reload it in case you want it scheduled for another date.