Facebook revealed in April of this year that some of Mark Zuckerberg’s messages on Facebook were deleted from the receivers’ inboxes. Some people considered it as a breach of user trust because the app does not have an Unsend feature yet.
But, the following morning, the company announced that it was formulating an Unsend functionality for every user.
Six months after, the company still has not published it. Thus, many surmised that the announcement was just a ploy to cover the scandal.
However, Jane Manchun Wong shared screenshots of the said feature.
In the photo, it showed that when you edit a message sent in a discussion, the Unsend Message shows up on top of Delete Message. If you select the unsend message option, a pop-up message appears to validate your choice.
Wong explained that there is a time limit for unsending messages. However, she did not mention what the time limit is.
For now, you can delete messages from your inbox. However, your receivers will still have them. This Unsend feature, on the other hand, will remove the message from both parties of a conversation. Despite the presence of a time limit, you still have time to take back what you said.
A Facebook spokesperson confirmed this feature stating:
“Facebook internally tests products and features before they ship to the public so we can ensure the quality of the experience.”
Beneficial or Not
This upcoming feature could be advantageous for individuals who send inappropriate messages to someone and wish to delete them With it, users might feel more comfortable when they send a message since they can easily recant the text. It may not be the same as Snapchat’s self-destruct feature.
But it is not the first time that Facebook implemented such capacity.
WhatsApp, for example, has an unsend feature that launched last year. With this feature, users could revoke a text if they wish. However, there is a period of time after you send the text to retract it. Then again, the deleted message does not disappear. Rather, you will see a note stating that the said message was removed. In that case, there is still record that you did send a message and that you deleted it.
Instagram has a similar feature. The message goes away as if you did not send it. To use it, you just have to hold the text you wish to delete and pick the unsend option to erase it from history. What is great about it is that the recipient will not be notified.
But the Unsend feature will be different for Facebook Messenger considering its position as the central communication tool. Some people think that if you remove the permanence of messages would make the tool less reliable. In that case, the Unsend feature on Facebook Messenger may or may not be useful to everyone.
What do you think of this feature? Should Facebook publish it? Do you think it would help make the tool more reliable? Please share your thoughts in the comments below.