A Facebook spokesman said a problem which allowed videos uploaded to Facebook to be viewed by anyone on their friends’ list, regardless of whether they have been given access to the clip, has been fixed after being live for one week.
Videos can be more sensitive than photos, so it is important that Facebook’s privacy controls, which allow members to restrict who has access to the videos, work as promised. The glitch over the past week allowed any “Friend” to view a listing of their friends’ Facebook videos, including a name, thumbnail, description, and anyone tagged in the picture.
The video thumbnail, when clicked, would prompt a message that “This video either has been removed from Facebook or is not visible due to privacy settings” but the thumbnail and description alone could be enough to cause someone embarrassment.
Facebook has had a long history of privacy glitches including messages sent being sent to the wrong people, and the potential for XSS attacks on other partner sites.