Facebook adds extra authorization method for Page Managers

Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Credit: https://www.facebook.com/business/news/new-authorization-for-pages

If you manage a Facebook Page with large American followings, then there is an extra authorization method you now need to adhere to. Facebook made an announcement last week that managers that wish to continue posting on their pages will need to complete an “authorization process.”  The process, according to the social media behemoth, includes enabling two-factor authentication and confirming their country of residence or where they are based in.

For those who require authorization based on the new update, a notice will be displayed at the top of their News Feed to start the process. Managers, however, will not be able to post to their Pages if they do not complete the process, the social media giant said in a post.

Facebook users can also now find out when a Page merges with another Page by simply looking into its history. This new feature will also soon be added to Instagram, according to Facebook. This, according to the company, will provide more information about profiles with large fanbases.

Our goal is to prevent organizations and individuals from creating accounts that mislead people about who they are or what they’re doing. These updates are part of our continued efforts to increase authenticity and transparency of Pages on our platform.”

For greater transparency and to calm the nerves of users who have been agitating for a safer Facebook, the social media giant is also adding a section called “People Who Manage.” This section will contain information such as the “primary country locations Pages are managed from, initially appearing on Pages with a large US audience.”

In other Facebook news, the social media behemoth announced the shutting down of its Friends List Feeds. Facebook confirmed the closure to TechCrunch last Thursday, stating its determination to concentrate its efforts on improving the main News Feed experience.

The Friend List Feeds gave users the opportunity to scroll through only those posts from friends that were considered close. It gave users the opportunity to personalize their lists of friends—in other works, only posts from close friends appear in the Friend List Feeds. It allowed you to catch up on those updates from your close circles of friends or family.

It was a brilliant idea when it was first added by Facebook, but the feature didn’t quite catch up with a lot of users. It worked by allowing you to create a friend list. I particularly liked the idea because it saved me a lot of time, and enabled me to quickly catch up to those posts from my friends and family—a sort of friends and family lists if that is what you wish to call it.

We’re shutting down this lesser-used feature to focus our efforts on improving the main News Feed experience,” a company spokesperson said per TechCrunch. “While people won’t be able to view custom feeds from lists of friends, they’ll still be able to create and edit friends lists, and share just to these audiences whenever they post to Facebook. In addition to these options, they can also keep customizing News Feed by visiting News Feed preferences to choose which posts they want to see first, or hide posts they don’t want to see.”


Share the joy
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Author: Ola Ric

Ola Ric is a professional tech writer. He has written and provided tons of published articles for professionals and private individuals. He is also a social commentator and analyst, with relevant experience in the use of social media services.

Share This Post On